2017 Nebelhorn

Nebelhorn Trophy

It all comes down to the wire this week at 2017 Nebelhorn Trophy, which takes place in Oberstdorf, Germany, Sep. 28-30. This competition is the final opportunity for nations to earn one or more of the remaining Olympic berths, so expect the competition to be fierce. A total of 141 skaters from 51 nations are slated to contest the four disciplines. This number includes skaters from nations that are not seeking Olympic qualification. With so much on the line, we expect an exciting competition to unfold in the German village.

There are six (6) spots open in each of the ladies and men′s singles disciplines; five (5) in pairs (one more opening is available as France will not be filling the second berth it earned at the 2017 World Championships), and six (6) in ice dance. Denmark returned its allotment due to citizenship issues relating to its ice dance team of Laurence Fournier Beaudry and Nikolaj Sørensen. Beaudry, who is Canadian, will not be eligible for citizenship at any time in the foreseeable future as she does not reside in Denmark — one of the main criteria of that nation for citizenship. Denmark does not have any history or program in place of bestowing nationality on elite athletes.

At this time, Australia has no berths at the 2018 Olympic Winter Games in PyeongChang. Skaters from that nation will be chasing places in the ladies, men′s and pairs disciplines. That nation was in the same situation in 2013, but its skaters stepped it up at Nebelhorn Trophy earning places in all three. Can they repeat that success four years later?

The judges′ draw for the 2018 Olympic Winter Games will take place on Saturday at 8:30 p.m (local time).

Canada’s Patrick Chan was scheduled to open his season in Oberstdorf, but boot problems have forced him to withdraw.

2017 Nebelhorn Trophy will be live streamed free of charge around the globe. Please check the links below for the event schedule, live stream and the start orders/results pages associated with this competition.