Site icon International Figure Skating

2017 Shanghai Trophy


2017 Shanghai Trophy takes place Nov. 24-26 at the Shanghai Oriental Sports Center.

The competition, which includes synchronized skating and short track speed skating, opens with the synchronized short programs on Friday. Synchronized teams only compete the short, while ladies, men, pairs and ice dance compete only the long program. It is the first time that the ISU has combined the three disciplines in one competition.

Five synchronized skating teams have been entered (16 skaters plus up to four alternates are permitted): Les Supremes (CAN), Marigold Ice Unity (FIN), Team Paradise (RUS), Team Surprise (SWE) and the Haydenettes (USA). 

Eight nations have entered athletes for the figure skating portion of this competition. 

Two Russian ladies are scheduled to compete in Shanghai: Alena Leonova and Maria Sotskova. It is anticipated that both will land on the podium, but in what order remains to be seen. Elizabet Tursynbaeva of Kazakhstan will be the main challenger for a medal.

Likewise, Moscow-based Ekaterina Bobrova and Dmitri Solovyev are a shoe-in to take the ice dance title. They will be joined by teammates Alla Loboda and Pavel Drozd.

Who will win the men’s event is another big question. Denis Ten of Kazakhstan is high on the list of contenders as is Russia’s Alexander Samarin and Morisi Kvitelashvili of Georgia.

The host country will field a strong team: Hong Chen and Yan Zhao in ice dance; He Zhang (men), and its two top pairs teams, Cheng Peng and Yang Jin and Wenjing Sui and Cong Han.

The Shanghai Trophy is an annual international skating competition organized by the Chinese Skating Association and Chinese Figure Skating Association. Invited skaters compete in the disciplines of short track speed skating, synchronized skating, or figure skating. The first event was held in 2016.





Exit mobile version