2018 Inge Solar


2018 Inge Solar

The 2018 Challenger Series resumes with the Inge Solar Memorial/Alpen Trophy Nov. 11-18 in Innsbruck, Austria. A total of 76 skaters/teams are registered to compete at this event: 26 men, 33 ladies, three pairs and 14 ice dance teams. No Japanese skaters are listed.

Three men who are headed to the Junior Grand Prix Final in December — Tomoko Hiwatashi and Camden Pulkinen of the U.S. and Adam Siao Him Fa of France — will likely battle it out with Canada′s Roman Sadovsky for top honors.

The ladies′ line-up includes three Russians — Anna Tarusina, the first alternate for the Junior Final, Serafima Sakhanovich, and Daria Panenkova (sixth at the Helsinki Grand Prix). Also on the roster are Laurine Lecavalier of France, Soyoun Park of Korea and Finland′s Emmi Peltonen.

With only three pairs teams competing no World Standing Points will be awarded (ISU rules require a minimum of five teams). This will be a warm-up event for Russia′s Anastasia Mishina and Aleksandr Galliamov who head into the Junior Final at the top of the leaderboard. This competition will be theirs to lose.

Italy′s Charlène Guignard and Marco Fabbri, who captured two silver medals on the Grand Prix circuit and are headed to the senior Grand Prix Final, headline the ice dance line-up. Lorraine McNamara and Quinn Carpenter of the U.S. (third at the Grand Prix in Helsinki) and Marie-Jade Lauriault and Romain Le Gac of France are the top-ranked teams in the field. 








The Challenger Series is an International Skating Union Figure Skating Series, introduced during the 2014-2015 season. Through ISU support, the objective is to ensure the proper and consistent organization and conduct of up to ten (10) International Competitions linked together within the Challenger Series. The Series gives adequate opportunities for many Skaters to compete at the international senior level and earn World Standing Points. The Series also increases the opportunity for Officials to officiate at an international level.

To be considered for the Challenger Series, the competition must have at least three disciplines and a minimum of entries per discipline. The three highest-placed skaters/teams at the end of each annual Challenger Series Ranking receive ISU Prize Money.