Site icon International Figure Skating

2018 Lombardia Trophy

2018 Lombardia Trophy

2018 Lombardia Trophy takes place Sep. 12-16 in Bergamo, Italy. This competition overlaps with 2018 U.S. International Classic.

Japan′s Shoma Uno, the reigning Olympic and World silver medalist, is the headliner of the men′s field. He will be joined by teammate Kazuki Tomono, fifth in his senior debut at 2018 Worlds. 

Kaori Sakamoto, the 2018 Four Continents champion, ranks first in the ladies in the field. Mako Yamashita, the 2018 World junior bronze medalist, will make her senior debut at this event. Russia′s Elizaveta Tuktamysheva and Sofia Samodurova, who are both coached by Alexei Mishin, are slated to compete. This event will mark Samodurova′s debut in the senior ranks. 

In pairs, Russia′s Natalia Zabiiako and Alexander Enbert and Nicole Della Monica and Matteo Guarise of Italy are the top two teams and should claim the top two steps of the podium. 

Their teammates, Charlene Guignard and Marco Fabbri, rank highest in the ice dance discipline and are frontrunners for gold. Spain′s Sara Hurtado and Kirill Khaliavin and Rachel Parsons and Michael Parsons of the U.S. are strong contenders for the silver and bronze medals.  

The 2018 U.S. International Classic takes the same weekend as 2018 Lombardia Trophy (see link below). 







The Challenger Series is an International Skating Union Figure Skating Series, introduced during the 2014-2015 season. Through ISU support, the objective is to ensure the proper and consistent organization and conduct of up to ten (10) International Competitions linked together within the Challenger Series. The Series gives adequate opportunities for many Skaters to compete at the international senior level and earn World Standing Points. The Series also increases the opportunity for Officials to officiate at an international level.

To be considered for the Challenger Series, the competition must have at least three disciplines and a minimum of entries per discipline. The three highest-placed skaters/teams at the end of each annual Challenger Series Ranking receive ISU Prize Money.

Exit mobile version