International Classic

Salt Lake City, Utah, will host 2018 U.S. International Classic, Sep. 12-16 at the Salt Lake City Sports Complex. A second event, 2018 Lombardia Trophy, takes place at the same time in Bergamo, Italy

A total of 43 athletes will compete in Salt Lake: 13 men, 16 ladies, six pairs and eight ice dance teams. American ice dancers Madison Hubbell and Zachary Donohue are the only returning champions from last season.

Nathan Chen, who claimed the men′s title in 2017, headlines the men′s field. He is scheduled to begin his first semester at Yale University this fall, but is hoping to be able to balance skating and school effectively and excel at both. Vincent Zhou of the U.S. and Michal Březina of the Czech Republic could be contenders for a podium finish give this line-up.

Japan′s Satoko Miyahara, the 2018 World bronze medalist, is the top lady .

The battle for the top step of the pairs podium will be between Ashley Cain and Timothy LeDuc of the U.S. and Australia’s Ekaterina Alexandrovskaya and Harley Windsor, the 2017 Grand Prix Final and World Junior champions, who will kick off their first full season in the senior ranks at this competition.

In ice dance, Hubbell and Donohue are a lock for gold. Their teammates Christina Carreira and Anthony Ponomarenko will be chasing the second spot on the podium. Marie-Jade Lauriault and Romain Le Gac of France have withdrawn. 

This competition will be live streamed, but is only available to viewers in the U.S. 





The Challenger Series is an International Skating Union Figure Skating Series, introduced during the 2014-2015 season. Through ISU support, the objective is to ensure the proper and consistent organization and conduct of up to ten (10) International Competitions linked together within the Challenger Series. The Series gives adequate opportunities for many Skaters to compete at the international senior level and earn World Standing Points. The Series also increases the opportunity for Officials to officiate at an international level.

To be considered for the Challenger Series, the competition must have at least three disciplines and a minimum of entries per discipline. The three highest-placed skaters/teams at the end of each annual Challenger Series Ranking receive ISU Prize Money.