IFS JUNE 2019World Team Trophy

The final competition of the season, the sixth edition of the World Team Trophy, takes place in Fukuoka, Japan, April 11-14. The top six highest scoring nations of the 2018-2019 season earned the right to compete at this competition. 

Competition format: Skaters earn points that go towards a team total. The skater/team that places first in each discipline earns 12 points, decreasing in descending order by 1 point. (The last placed singles skaters will receive 1 point, pairs and ice dance teams receive 7 points). The team with the highest aggregate score at the end of the competition will win the ISU World Team Trophy along with substantial prize money:

1: US$ 200’000
2: US$ 170’000
3: US$ 160’000
4: US$ 150’000
5: US$ 140’000
6: US$ 130’000

This year, Russia qualified first with 9038 points, ahead of Team USA (7752 points), Japan (6991 points), France (5541 points), Italy (4344 points), and Canada (4217 points).

History of the competition: Team Japan struck gold in 2012 and 2017.Team USA won the Trophy in 2009, 2013 and 2015. 

Japan: Team Captain – Misato Komatsubara
Shoma Uno, Keiji Tanaka, Kaori Sakamoto, Rika Kihira, Riku Miura/Shoya Ichihashi, Misato Komatsubara/Tim Koleto

Russia: Team Captain – Nikita Katsalapov – (Alina Zagitova/Evgenia Medvedeva had prior show commitments)
Sofia Samodurova, Elizaveta Tuktamysheva, Andrei Lazukin, Alexander Samarin, Victoria Sinitsina/Nikita Katsalapov, Natalia Zabiiako/Alexander Enbert

France: Team Captain – Morgan Ciprès
Laurine Lecavelier, Maé-Bérénice Meite, Kevin Aymoz, Adam Siao Him Fa, Gabriella Papadakis/Guillaume Cizeron, Vanessa James/Morgan Ciprès

U.S.: Team Captain – Madison Hubbell
Mariah Bell, Bradie Tennell, Nathan Chen, Vincent Zhou, Ashley Cain/Timothy LeDuc, Madison Hubbell/Zachary Donohue

Italy: Team Captain – Marco Fabbri
Daniel Grassl, Matteo Rizzo, Marina Piredda, Roberta Rodeghiero, Nicole Della Monica/Matteo Guarise, Charlène Guignard/Marco Fabbri

Canada: Team Captains – Andrew Poje/Kaitlyn Weaver
Keegan Messing, Nam Nguyen, Alaine Chartrand, Gabrielle Daleman, Kirsten Moore-Towers/Michael Marinaro, Kaitlyn Weaver/Andrew Poje