Nebelhorn TrophyThe German Figure Skating Federation (DEU) will host the 2020 Nebelhorn Trophy Sept. 23-26 in Oberstdorf, Germany, with strict protocols, procedures and restrictions in place. There are currently 17 men, 22 ladies, six pairs and seven ice dance teams slated to compete.

No spectators will be permitted for to attend the practice sessions or the competition. The event will be live streamed around the world, except in Japan where TV Asahi will air the competition. Read the full press release here.

Latvia′s Deniss Vasiljevs and Matteo Rizzo of Italy headline the men′s field, which features skaters from 11 nations. The battle for gold will undoubtedly be between these two men. Alexia Paganini of Switzerland — who is now coached by Stéphane Lambiel in Champéry is the highest ranked lady followed by Germany′s Nicole Schott. 

Headlining the pairs event are Italy′s Rebecca Ghilardi and Filippo Ambrosini and Annika Hocke and Robert Kunkel of Germany. In ice dance, the top team in the field is Germany’s Katarina Mueller and Tim Dieck who are co-coached by Anjelika Krylova and Vitali Schulz.

With the recent cancellation of Finlandia Trophy, 2020 Nebelhorn Trophy is currently the only confirmed Challenger Series event so far this season. There are four remaining competitions on the Challenger Series roster following Nebelhorn. It is likely the organizers of those events will be watching closely to see if the format is workable before they move ahead with their respective plans.