Team Canada 2020

Skate Canada named its team for the 2021 World Championships on Feb. 25:

Men: Keegan Messing
Ladies: Madeline Schizas, Emily Bausback
Pairs: Kirsten Moore-Towers/Michael Marinaro, Evelyn Walsh/Trennt Michaud
Ice Dance: Piper Gilles/Paul Poirier, Laurence Fournier Beaudry/Nikolaj Sorensen, Marjorie Lajoie/Zachary Lagha

Skate Canada named its national team for the 2020-2021 season. These national team appointments are effective from Sep. 1, 2020 through June 30, 2021.

A total of 18 athletes, comprised of three men, three ladies, two pairs and four ice dance teams have been selected to represent Canada this season — a decrease of nine athletes that made up the 2019-2020 team. This is the first national team ranking for the three ladies. 

To earn a place on a national team, skaters must have finished in the top three at the 2020 Championships, and/or have a top-24 ranking in the ISU World Standings, and confirmed to compete in the 2020-2021 season. Athletes can be added at the discretion of Skate Canada based on new partnerships that are formed between current and former national team members.

Roman Sadovsky, Nam Nguyen, Keegan Messing

Emily Bausback, Alison Schumacher, Madeline Schizas

Kirsten Moore-Towers/Michael Marinaro, Evelyn Walsh/Trennt Michaud

Piper Gilles/Paul Poirier, Marjorie Lajoie/Zachary Lagha

Some of the national team members have announced one or both of their programs for this season:

Nam Nguyen“Adios Nonino″
– Astor Piazzolla
“Mi Mancherai″
– Josh Groban
Danielle Rose
Kirsten Moore-Towers/Michael Marinaro“Gimme All Your Love”
– Alabama Shakes
“The Blower’s Daughter”
– Damien Rice
Julie Marcotte
Evelyn Walsh/
Trennt Michaud
– Imagine Dragons
“Vai Vedrai″
– Cirque du Soleil
Alison Purkiss (SP)
Eric Radford (LP)
Laurence Fournier Beaudry/Nikolaj Sorensen “Roots – Return to the Inner Temple″Scott Moir/Marie-France Dubreuil/ Romain Haguenauer/Gigi Cournoyer
Marjorie Lajoie/
Zachary Lagha
 “Rio″ – John PowellRomain Haguenauer/Gigi Cournoyer
Emily Bausback“The One I Love″
– Ellen Krauss
“Alla Notte (Adagio)″
– Miriam Stockley
Joanne McLeod/Lance Vipond/
Neil Wilson
Alison Schumacher “Once Upon a Time in the West″
– Ennio Morricone
Joey Russell
Madeline Schizas “I Will Wait for You″ Asher Hill
Carolane Soucisse and Shane Firus, who now train with Carol Lane and her team in Toronto, are keeping both programs from last season but have made changes to both.
Scott Moir choreographed a long program for Nicolas Nadeau to a medley by The Doors.